Many congratulations are in order for current and former members of the UOgeophysics group:

  • Morgan McLellan successfully defended her thesis entitled “Uncovering the physical controls of slow slip along Cascadia and other global active tectonic margins” in January 2023. Following her PhD, Morgan found employment as a Data Analyst at Statistics Canada.

  • Taylor Tracey Kyryliuk was awarded the prestigious NSERC CGS-D scholarship in May 2023.

  • Hao Mai successfully defended his thesis entitled “Developing deep learning tools in earthquake detection and phase picking” in August 2023. Hao recently took up a position as Data Scientist at Larus Technology.

  • Quan Zhang was awarded the Collett Graduate Scholarship from the Canadian Exploration Geophysical Society (KEGS) in September 2023.


Pascal Audet
Professor of Geophysics & University Research Chair